Winners announced for the Japan Game Awards!

Winners announced for the Japan Game Awards!

Organized by the Computer Entertainment Supplier’s Association (CESA), the Japan Game Awards has been held annually since 1996 as a way of supporting fantastic video games and games currently in development across all platforms.

It receives support from Japan’s Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry and has 3 divisions including the Game of the Year, Future, and Amateur Divisions, as well as the Minister of Economy, Trade, and Industry Award and the Game Designer Award. Past winners have including Mario Kart 64, The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess, and Gears of War.

Winners were announced between Sept. 15-18 at Tokyo Game Show 2016 at Makuhari Messe, and can be found below!

Japan Game Awards 2016

Game of the Year Division
Grand Winner

Awards for Excellence
**The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt**
**Super Mario Maker**
**Dark Souls III**
**Dragon Quest Builders**
**Fallout 4**
**Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain**
**Monster Hunter Cross**
**Youkai Watch Busters: Red Cat Squad / White Dog Team**

Best-Seller Award
**Monster Hunter Cross**

Global Award: Japan Division
**Super Smash Brothers for Nintendo 3DS / Wii U**

Global Award: Overseas Division
**Call of Duty: Black Ops III**

Future Division
**Final Fantasy XV**
**Gravity Rush 2**
**Horizon Zero Dawn**
**Megami Meguri**
**Monster Hunter Stories**
**Resident Evil 7**
**Summer Lesson: Hikari M-Seven Days Room**
**The Last Guardian**
**Ryu ga Gotoku 6**

Game Designers Award
**Life is Strange** (Dontnod Entertainment)

The Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry Award
**Dragon Quest** 30th Anniversary Project Team

It’s been an exciting year for video games, and it looks like there are a lot of great games yet to come! Which was your favorite game on this list?

Image source: Tokyo Otaku Mode

Join the TOM Fan Club to learn TOM Senpai's secrets. Apply now: