New Kimi no Na wa. Trailer Gives Taste of English Theme Songs

New Kimi no Na wa. Trailer Gives Taste of English Theme Songs

Still can't get over Kimi no Na wa. ( your name. ), Shinkai Makoto's massively popular tear-jerker of a film? Neither can we! And that's why we're excited to hear that Radwimps, the equally successful rock band behind its soundtrack, has released a short clip previewing four tracks from the movie: "Dream Lantern", "Zenzenzense", "Sparkle", and "Nandemonaiya" - all in English.

With less than a month to go until the physical soundtrack's international release (yes, international!), this also heightens anticipation for the North American release on Apr. 7, which will have the choice of both English audio and Japanese audio with English. For those who can't wait for either, the digital album is now available online on platforms like iTunes and Spotify.

Although dubbing dialogue and soundtracks can leave many anime fans unhappy with lost or altered quality and meaning, Radwimps' new trailer suggests that none of the beauty in Kimi no Na wa. and its theme songs has been lost. Instead, it's been transformed into a different, yet equally valid Kimi no Na wa. experience. Indeed, Shinkai seems particularly optimistic on this front, having previously thanked the band for such "wonderful English versions" and expressing his hopes that "these alternative versions will lead the audience to a better understanding of the world of your name."

For more details on the soundtrack's international release, check the details below!

Title: “Your name. deluxe edition / Original Motion Picture Soundtrack”
Territory: digital – worldwide except Japan / physical – manufactured in the US for distribution worldwide
Jan. 27, 2017 - digital release
Mar. 10, 2017 – physical release (2CD package)
• Dream lantern (English ver.)
• School road
• Itomori high school
• First view of Tokyo
• Cafe at last
• Theme of Ms. Okudera
• Unusual changes of two
• Zenzenzense (English ver.)
• Goshintai
• Date
• Autumn festival
• Evoking memories
• Visit to Hida
• Disappeared town
• Library
• The night inn
• Again to Goshintai
• Kuchikamizake trip
• Council of war
• Persuading mayor
• Theme of Mitsuha
• Unseen two
• Katawaredoki
• Sparkle (English ver.)
• Date 2
• Nandemonaiya (English ver.)
Bonus disc
• Dream lantern
• Zenzenzense (movie ver.)
• Sparkle (movie ver.)
• Nandemonaiya (movie ver.)
* For digital album bundle, 4 tracks on the bonus disc will be added after Nandemonaiya (English ver.) making the album bundle a total of 30 tracks.

This is a Tokyo Otaku Mode original article.

Join the TOM Fan Club to learn TOM Senpai's secrets. Apply now: